Back To Top

phone-call whatsapp

Military school


The Rashtriya military schools in Indian subcontinent were started in 1925 with establishment of Chail Military School (King George Royal Indian Military College) in Jalandhar (in India) and Military College Jhelum (King George Royal Indian Military College) in Jhelum (now in Pakistan) and later on Ajmer, Bangalore, Belgaum and Dholpur were started by Government of India. No other military school is authorized to be named as a Rashtriya Military School. Rashtriya Military School were established for take care of the education of the sons of defence personnel. In 1952, the schools were reorganized on Public School lines and admissions were made open to the sons of Defence Service Officers and civilians. In 1954, the school became member of the Indian Public Schools Conference (IPSC) and continues to be an active member till date. The schools were renamed Military Schools in 1966 and its motto is, ‘Sheelem Param Bhushanam’ which means 'Character is the Highest Virtue'. On 25th Jun 2007 the schools got their present name “Rashtriya Military School”. The school has several of its alumni occupying high positions in the Armed Forces and in other sectors doing stellar service to the motherland.



These were established at


1. Chail Military School (Shimla)


2. Ajmer Military School


3. Bangalore Military School


4. Belgaum Military School


5. Dholpur Military School





70% for wards of JCOs/OR of Army, Navy and AF (including Ex-servicemen). 30% for wards of Officers of Army, Navy and AF (including retired Officers) and wards of civilians. 50 seats are reserved for wards of service personnel Killed in Action. Note: 15% and 7.5% seats are reserved for SC and ST in all categories.





Only boys between 10 to 11 years of age for Class VI and boys between 13 to 14 years of age for Class IX are eligible for admission. Not: Six months relaxation in upper age limit is permissible for the wards of personnel Killed in Action.

© 2023. All Rights Reserved 2020All Right Reserved Somra Gurukul Academy